Let's explain Promises for 5-year-old child who can easily understand the concept.

Let's explain Promises for 5-year-old child who can easily understand the concept.

·

2 min read

Imagine you have a friend, Timmy, who agrees to share his toy car with you tomorrow. A promise in programming is similar to that; it allows your code to say, "Hey, I'm going to do something, and when I'm done, I'll let you know."

In this case, playGame is like Timmy announcing, "I'm going to play the game," and celebration is like you waiting for the game to be over. But it doesn't tell you when the game is finished. Let me explain with a simple example:

// With a promise
function playGame() {
  return new Promise((resolve, reject) => {
    console.log("Playing the game...");
    // Simulate the game taking some time
    setTimeout(() => {
      resolve(); // Game is done, and we're happy
    }, 2000);
  });
}

function celebrate() {
  console.log("Yay! Game is over!");
}

playGame()
  .then(celebrate)
  .catch(error => console.error(error));

In this case, playGame is equivalent to Timmy saying, "I promise I'll play the game and let you know when it's done." Then you use.then() to say, "When the game's over, celebrate!" If there is a problem (for example, the game cannot be played), use.catch() to handle it.

So, a promise is a means for your code to honor its word and let you know when something is done, just as friends pledge to share toys or play games together.

I hope you like my post please like my post ❣️

it will help many candidates whose interviews are coming soon.

Did you find this article valuable?

Support Ravi Kumar by becoming a sponsor. Any amount is appreciated!